Home > diary > Everything Is Despair

Everything Is Despair

As usual I would put my hands at the side of her face while she ate so that her trashing wouldn’t fling her on her side.

That one second, I looked away.

She bit into my finger. My first finger. Her curved incisor went into the divide between my finger and fingernail.  And she bit down.

I tried to open her jaws. She bit down again.

The moment I freed my finger, the blood spurted.  Great.

It was almost midnight. I went to the hospital for wound-dressing and a tetanus shot.

The doctor asked, “A dog?”

I answered, “No, my cat.”

He asked, “Angry cat?”

I answered, “Er, no. It has a nerve problem.”

The disbelief on his face was as plain as the headlights at night.  Perhaps I should have come up with a better story.

This plus that plus and plus amounted to over a hundred dollars.

Great.

Kate Cat bit a finger on my left hand.  The doctor shot me on my right arm.

Great.

Doctor’s Tip:
A tetanus shot last five years.
Next time make sure the shot is on the same arm as the wounded finger, no need to divert attention to two spots of discomfort.
Categories: diary
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

